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January 5, 2010 

 

Agency Name 

Contact 

Address  

City, State Zip 

 

Re: Reporting Employee Hours 

Dear Contact: 

Last year employers were notified that the Wyoming Retirement System (WRS) would require 

employees’ actual hours worked to be reported on payroll contribution reports.  This information is 

necessary to allow WRS to accurately calculate months of service credit for employees.  The 

Wyoming Statutes require months of service credit to be based on actual hours worked.  Pursuant to 

Wyo. Stat. § 9-3-409(b), the WRS Board has the authority to regulate the duties of participating 

employers and to require employers to furnish information in written or electronic format.   

Please be advised that beginning with the March 2010 payroll contribution report, WRS will no 

longer accept payroll contribution reports that do not include actual hours worked by an employee.  

In the event an employer submits a payroll report without reporting the actual employee hours, the 

report will be returned to the employer to complete the hours field.  Having these reports returned 

may adversely affect employees who are seeking to retire, or former employees who are seeking a 

refund, because we will not be able to process those requests without a properly completed payroll 

contribution report.  Additionally, if an employer fails to correct this issue in a timely manner, 

interest may be charged on any late contributions pursuant to Wyo. Stat. § 9-3-413. 

Attached please find Reporting Hours for Payroll Contribution Reports guidelines related to 

reporting employee hours.  If you have any reporting questions or problems with your software 

please refer to the guidelines available on our Web site (http://retirement.state.wy.us).  If you have 

additional questions or problems, please contact either Debbie Grimm at dgrimm@state.wy.us or 

Renee Winfrey at rwinfr@state.wy.us in the Active Employee Section.  If you are not the proper 

recipient of this letter, please forward this letter directly to the appropriate person, or contact us with 

that information.   

We appreciate your cooperation with this matter.  We look forward to working with you and your 

agency in assuring that WRS receives accurate and timely employee payroll information.     

Sincerely,  

                                                            

 

Thomas Williams 

Executive Director 

mailto:rwinfr@state.wy.us


Wyoming Retirement System 

Reporting Hours for Payroll Contribution Reports 

January 5, 2010 

 

WRS requires employers to report the actual hours worked by employees.  Actual hours also include 

used sick, annual and compensatory time.  Additionally, hours should only be reported in whole 

numbers, regardless of the method used for reporting (Excel, ASCII, or Hand-post).  Partial hours should 

be rounded up to the next whole number.   

There are several different types of employees.  Please refer to the bullets below explaining how to 

report hours for the various types of employees.  The default hours for a month if an employee works a 

standard 8 hour workday, 5 days per week is 174.  8 hours per day x 5 days per week = 40 hours per 

week.  40 hours per week x 52 weeks per year = 2,080 hours per year.  2,080 hours per year / 12 months 

= 173.33 hours per month (then round up to the next whole number). 

 Hourly Employees: [Hourly employees are those employees who receive compensation based 

on an hourly rate of pay per hour worked.] For these employees, hours should be reported as 

the actual hours worked. (Rounded up to the next whole number) 

 Salaried Non-Exempt Employees: [Salaried non-exempt employees are those employees who 

work on a salaried basis, but are eligible for overtime hours and wages.]  These employees’ 

hours should be reported as the actual hours worked (174 plus overtime hours, if applicable).  

For example, if you have a salaried, non-exempt employee who worked 10 hours of overtime in 

a month, then you would report 184 hours for that employee for the month.  If you have an 

employee that works only part of the month, then you should report the actual hours worked. 

 Salaried Exempt Employees: [Salaried exempt employees are those employees who do not 

receive overtime hours or wages.] For those employees, report 174.  If you have an employee 

that works only part of the month, then you should report the actual hours worked. 

 Contract Employees:  [Contract employees are those employees whose employment is based on 

a specified contract of employment – usually teachers.]  For contract employees, you should 

report the default hours for each month of the employee contract that the employee actually 

worked.  If the employee is paid a salary, then that employee must be included in the monthly 

contribution report. If the employee was not paid a salary, therefore there were no 

contributions, then that employee should not be included in the report for that month.  If an 

employee was paid a salary, but did not work during that month, then report 0 hours for that 

month. 

o Contract Employees Paid Less Than 12 Months Per Year:  Example - If the contract is for 

10 months (and the employee only works 10 months out of the year), then report 174 

for the 10 months of the contract period.  If the employee did not work and did not earn 

a salary during the remaining two months of the year (not included in the contract 



period) then do not include the employee in the monthly report for those two months.  

Please do not include employees on the monthly report if they were not paid a salary 

and did not work any hours. 

o Contract Employees Paid 12 Months Per Year:  Example - If the contract is for 12 months 

(and the employee actually works 12 months of the year), then report 174 for each of 

the 12 months of the contract period.  If the contract is for 12 months, but the 

employee actually works 9 months of the year, then report 174 for the months actually 

worked (report 174 for the 9 months), then report 0 hours worked for the remaining 

months of the employee’s contract period.  Again, if the employee was not paid a salary 

and did not work any hours, please do not include them on the monthly report. 

 

Please call the Active Employee Section at (307) 777-6865 if you have any questions regarding how to 

report hours. 

Any adjustments being reported must include the number of hours, the salary and the contributions 

that need to be adjusted.  For example, if your agency has an employee who terminates in March and 

you erroneously continue payments for April and May, the agency must provide the hours credited to 

April and May along with the salary and contributions for those months on the adjustment form (Form 

WRS-11).  The relevant hours worked and contributions made will be subtracted from the employee’s 

service credits. 

Adjustments must include the following: 

 Pay period ending date 

 Number of hours 

 Salary 

 Contributions (employee contribution and matching amount) 

Employees beginning and ending employment in the middle of the month:  For all employees, hourly 

and salaried, who begin or end employment in the middle of the month, the hours worked should be 

prorated and reported as the actual hours worked for the month. 

Bi-weekly or Non-traditional payroll:  Employers paying on a bi-weekly or non-traditional payroll need to 

report actual hours for that pay period. 

Extra Pay: If an employee receives extra pay, it should be included on the same report as their regular 

pay.  Please combine the regular pay and the extra pay into one line entry on the report.  WRS cannot 

accept two separate reports and contributions in one month for the same employee. 


